GLUTEN FREE CONFIDENCE SCORE: 5/10
There is some controversy as to whether or not vodka is gluten-free.
Scientists might say that the distillation process removes gluten proteins from wheat-based vodka, but many people report feeling the effects of gluten contamination after consuming wheat-based vodka (they claim it’s not just the hangover). We’re not in the position to say 100% either way, but if you are sensitive to gluten you can just make this easy and drink a vodka that is not made from wheat. Smirnoff (which is distilled from corn) is an easy and inexpensive option. We also really love Tito’s vodka from Austin, TX (also distilled from corn). Potato-based vodkas (Chopin, for example) are also a safe choice. Also, we’ve heard form one of our readers that Devotion vodka tastes great and is marketed as gluten-free.