GLUTEN FREE CONFIDENCE SCORE: 0/10
All Malt Vinegars contain barley, which is a gluten containing grain. This would lend us to think that Malt Vinegar is not gluten-free and not safe for people on a gluten-free diet. But as time has gone on, the controversy has grown amongst Celiac groups all over the world. Malt Vinegars do have to go through a fermentation process (similar to alcohol), and the final product has a trace amount of gluten left, but it is well below the 20ppm most people use a guideline. This means there are some gluten-free folks out there who could possibly have Malt Vinegar and not get sick.
There are plenty of other vinegars out there that are all naturally gluten-free (Cider, Balsamic, etc.), so check out your local store aisles the next time you shop for something that’s definitely gluten-free.