GLUTEN FREE CONFIDENCE SCORE: 7/10
Jack Daniels whiskey is one of the most famous whiskies from Tennessee, and it follows a specific recipe. A typical Tennessee whiskey must contain between 51%-79% corn or maize, both of which are gluten-free grains. The remaining percentage can be made out of a mash of different grains, and this usually includes a grain made out of gluten in this mash. As with other alcoholic beverages, the gluten protein is removed during the distillation process, so in some circles it’s considered “technically” gluten-free. Other people report that they get a reaction from Jack Daniels (and other alcohols distilled from gluten-containing grains).
Ultimately, it’s going to come down to your personal level of gluten sensitivity. For the record, Jack Daniels says on their site that gluten is removed during the distillation process, but Jack Daniels is not “certified” gluten-free and no other information re: testing for gluten is available.