GLUTEN FREE CONFIDENCE SCORE: 4/10
The controversy of whether or not gin is gluten-free still goes on. Gin contains Juniper Berries/Juniper flavoring along with various grains and botanicals (i.e. Hendrick’s uses roses and cucumber infusions), and your typical gin maker usually includes a grain made out of gluten (barley, wheat, rye). As with other alcoholic beverages, the gluten protein is removed during the distillation process, so in some circles it’s considered “technically” gluten-free.
What’s a gluten-free person to do? It honestly depends on your sensitivity. There are some gluten-free folks who have no problems consuming Hendrick’s Gin, but others do have reactions. We strongly recommend you use caution when consuming gin if you are on a gluten-free diet, and consider drinking another gluten-free beverage instead. Please read the ingredient and nutrition label carefully. Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!