GLUTEN FREE CONFIDENCE SCORE: 0/10
There’s a lot of controversy with Heineken and its gluten-free status, but here are the facts. 1) Heineken contains barley, which is a gluten-containing grain (for reference, here is Heineken’s statement on their website). 2) Due to various processes the company has in place, the gluten count goes down, and Heineken tests below the 20ppm. Does this make Heineken gluten-free?
We here at the GFB personally believe that if it contains a gluten ingredient in its inception, this makes Heineken not gluten-free. There are so many great gluten-free beers and ciders out there to choose from, we recommend you buy something else. Please read the ingredient and nutrition label carefully. Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!