GLUTEN FREE CONFIDENCE SCORE: 4/10
The definition of bourbon in the US is that it must be made out of 51% corn or maize, both of which are gluten-free grains. The remaining 49% can be made out of a mash of different grains, and your typical bourbon maker usually includes a grain made out of gluten in this mash. As with other alcoholic beverages, the gluten protein is removed during the distillation process, so in some circles it’s considered “technically” gluten-free.
What’s a gluten-free person to do? It honestly depends on your sensitivity. There are some gluten-free folks who have no problems consuming bourbon, but others do have reactions. We strongly recommend you use caution when consuming bourbon if you are on a gluten-free diet, and consider drinking another gluten-free beverage instead. Please read the ingredient and nutrition label carefully. Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!