GLUTEN FREE CONFIDENCE SCORE: 7/10
When evaluating if beef jerky is gluten-free, it really depends on the brand. At a basic level, beef jerky is simply dehydrated meat which would naturally be gluten-free. Of course, it is not that simple as beef jerky manufacturers typically add flavorings and seasonings and that is where gluten comes into the picture.
As of this writing, here are where some major brands stand in terms of being gluten-free or not:
- Jack Link’s: many of Jack Link's flavors are gluten-free, but definitely not ALL of them. Please read the ingredient and nutrition label carefully. Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!
- Oberto Jerky flavors Teriyaki Beef and Teriyaki Turkey contain gluten.
- Krave Jerky now claims to be entirely gluten free
- Matador products (jerky and snack sticks) are not gluten free, containing wheat and soy.
- Hi Country Bee Jerky makes most of their meat snacks and wild game seasonings gluten free, but they have a long list of snacks and seasonings that DO contain gluten. Meat Snacks; Teriyaki Beef Jerky, Sweet & Zesty Beef Jerky, Buffalo Jerky, Peppered Ranch Steak Beef Jerky, Bar-B-Que Ranch Steak Beef Jerky, Teriyaki Pucks, Teriyaki Sausage Stick. Wild Game Seasonings; Sweet Teriyaki Jerky Seasonings, Sweet Teriyaki-No Added MSG Jerky Seasonings, Sweet & Spicy Jerky Seasonings, Spicy Sweet Goose & Duck Jerky Seasonings, Original Recipe Fish Fry Mix, Spicy Blend Fish Fry Mix, Lemon Pepper Fish Fry Mix, Honey Teriyaki Meat Marinade, Prime Rib Meat Rub, Pork Rib Meat Rub.
The above is merely a guide and since formulations can always change you really need to pay close attention to the ingredient label to determine if a particular brand of beef jerky is gluten-free or not. Please read the ingredient and nutrition label carefully. Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!