GLUTEN FREE CONFIDENCE SCORE: 9/10
If we are talking about “regular” Lays potato chips the yes, they are considered gluten-free.
Definitely watch out for BBQ Mesquite Lay’s as (as of this writing) they contain malted barley flour. Check out the Frito-Lay list of GF products here.
If you are looking at other flavored Lays potato chips, then please read the label as flavorings could contain gluten (and product formulations are always subject to change). Need help in understanding what to look for on those labels? We have a guide - check it out!