the gluten free blog

The Gluten-Free Halloween Candy Guide 2016

gluten free halloween candy guide

Halloween is right around the corner, and we all know that’s just a creative way to spell F-R-E-E–C-A-N-D-Y. So this year sit back, relax, and let us do the dirty work of researching which popular Halloween treats are gluten-free. We’re putting on our Sherlock Holmes costume and investigating the GF status of some of the most popular candies out there.

The GFB’s “Is It Gluten-Free” List already hosts a whopping 150+ candy reviews, so you can get quick and reliable insights on the GF score of nearly any candy bar that makes it into your Halloween bag this year. Simply follow the link to our expansive list, and scroll down to the Candy section to peruse the GF ratings of familiar friends like Baby Ruth, Airheads, Dum Dums, and more.

To make things even easier for you, we’ve rounded up 20 of the most popular candies and condensed them into two simple categories: gluten-free and not gluten-free. For all of the details on a product’s gluten-free confidence score, risk of cross-contamination, and variation within brand offerings, click through each link to access the full review.

Let’s get to it.

Gluten-Free*

*Make sure to read each review, as there are some warnings to heed.

Almond Joy

3 Musketeers

Smarties

Swedish Fish

Air Heads

Sour Patch Kids

Starburst

Skittles

Butterfinger

M&Ms

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups

Jolly Ranchers

Candy Corn

Snickers Snickers contains no gluten ingredients or allergen labeling indicating cross-contamination with wheat ingredients.

Hershey’s Kisses The Hershey’s website has a list of their products that “have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten-free using standards established by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).” 

 

NOT Gluten-Free

Milky Way 

Kit Kat

Twix

Twizzlers

Whoppers The Hershey’s website has a list of their products that “have been fully evaluated and qualify as gluten-free using standards established by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).” Because Whoppers contain malt, they don’t make the list.

Looking for more reviews of products you love? Visit our “Is It Gluten-Free” Food List and check out the gluten-free confidence score on hundreds of popular brands, products, and ingredients. Happy Halloween!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *