Gluten-Free Labeling Guide

Below is our quick reference guide to help you determine what foods may contain gluten and what to look for when reading labels and looking for certifications.
A downloadable PDF version of this guide is available here.

Primary Ingredients Containing Gluten:3829225713_17f0a9600d_m
Wheat, barley, rye, malt, and standard (i.e. non-certified gluten-free) oats.

Other Gluten Containing Grains:
Wheat starch, wheat germ, malted barley, barley extract, semolina, farina, bulgur, spelt, couscous, bran, faro, kamut, emmer, einkorn, udon, triticale, panko, orzo, durum.

Products That Have A High Likelihood of Containing Gluten:
Bread, pastas, conventional oatmeal, standard dough and flours, canned soup, frozen meals, meat substitutes, beer, malted beverages, malted candy, soy sauce, marinades and sauces, prepared packaged foods, bagels, muffins, donuts, instant rice, pizza, cookies, ice cream products, baked goods (these are just examples and by no means is an extensive list – please refer to our extensive food list when looking for specific types/brands of foods).

certified gluten-free logoCertified Gluten-Free Label:
This is the safest and best way of knowing that the gluten content of a product is less than 10 parts per million (PMM) and that it is considered gluten-free by the FDA. An organization called the Gluten-Free Certification Organization oversees this program and ensures manufacturers are complying with their standard. The logo looks like this:

other gluten-free logosOther Gluten-Free Labels:
Some companies will claim a product has “zero gluten,” or has “no gluten ingredients”, but if it is not certified as gluten-free, it is best to contact the company directly and ask what their label means. Examples include:

contains wheatReviewing the Ingredient List For Gluten Ingredients:
By law, all companies are required to declare when a product contains wheat. Check the end of a product’s list of ingredients for “Contains: Wheat.”  If it does not contain wheat, read the ingredients for ingredients containing rye, barley, malt, or oats, and check if the product was made in a facility that also processes wheat.

processed on equipmentFacility That Also Processes Wheat – What Does it Mean? 
For any product not certified as gluten-free, check the label to see if it is “made in a facility that also processes wheat” or “made on equipment shared with wheat products.” If it is, the risk of cross-contamination can be high, and those on a strict gluten-free diet should avoid these products. We also have a blog post that explores this topic in more detail.

  • Pingback: Energy Boost: Top 6 Gluten-Free Foods to Get You Through the Afternoon Slump | The Official Gluten-Free Blog by The GFB™()

  • jason

    How can I get the coupon code “certifiedGF”?

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi Jason

      Sorry for any confusion, but “certifiedGF” is the actual coupon code and you can enter it when you are on the payment details page during the checkout process to get 15% off your order.

      • Kathy Long Monk

        How do I go about getting 15% off my shopping list with the certified GF lable on the product with online shopping ” thank you. :)

        • theglutenfreebar

          Hi Kathy – go to and during the checkout process you will see an area to enter a coupon code – that is where you would enter the code “certifiedGF” and the 15% discount will be applied.

          • Kathy Long Monk

            Thank You :)

  • Pingback: Gluten-Free Solutions for Easter and Passover | The Official Gluten-Free Blog by The GFB™()

  • Guest


    • theglutenfreebar

      No problem – glad it was helpful.

  • Dawn Jones

    Very helpful blog, thanks. UK goods might differ, wish there was a similar blog for those 😀

    • theglutenfreebar

      You’re welcome Dawn. Yes, things do differ in the UK – I wish we had the resources to update with that info as well. Cheers.

  • fred

    FDA gluten free guidelines are 20 PPM.

  • amanda

    This helped alot I was just informed that wheat and gluten are weak poisons. Which explains random stomach pains and diareah

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thanks Amanda! I’m glad you found it useful!

  • @#$%

    I found your website to be super helpful, you guys rock :)

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thank you! Glad you found it helpful.

  • Eileen
  • Patricia Niemann

    I wish I had read your article before I bought a box of Nature valleys’s Nut Crisp, that says it’s gluten-free. However it contains barley wheat extract and unfortunately that was enough to cause some problems. The grocery store had the product in the “Gluten-Free” section of the store. Thank you for this information.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi Patricia – I’m sorry you had that experience but glad you found our site. Thanks for the comment!

Watch What Makes a Good Gluten-Free Snack

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get Exclusive Sales and Great Gluten-Free Articles