Is Fireball Whiskey Gluten-Free?

glutenfreechart5 Gluten-Free Confidence Score: 5/10
All of the online reports that we have read claim that Fireball Whiskey is NOT gluten-free. However, after contacting the company they claim that Fireball Whiskey is “considered” gluten-free as the distillation process “technically” removes gluten proteins. Please note that there is an ongoing debate as to the effectiveness of this distillation process. There are many reports (typically from those with a high level of gluten sensitivity and/or celiac) stating that they have been gluten-contaminated after drinking (wheat-based) distilled spirits. Fireball Whiskey claims that there product is no different than other wheat-based spirits – it is distilled and there are no gluten-containing additives in the product. So, deciding to drink Fireball Whiskey is really going to depend on your level of gluten-sensitivity.

  • Matt

    Damn.

    • theglutenfreebar

      I know! It’s a bummer….

  • theglutenfreebar

    Hi Matt – thanks for the kind words and sharing with your FB friends – we really do appreciate it. How do you feel about vodka (potato based), tequila, or rum? Those are all naturally gluten-free. Would love to hear your feedback on the bars and don’t miss the coupon code – you’ll find it towards the upper-right of this page.

    • Matt

      I drink all of those. I have recently discovered that they make a vodka with Sweet Potatoes which sounds interesting, yet to try it. I like to take shots of Fireball, with the other liquors you named I don’t usually take shots of them, sometimes tequila. I normally just make drinks with those. Tequila should be illegal, haha! That and Jagermeister do me in.

      • theglutenfreebar

        Good to hear from you again Matt! I actually just wrote up a article the other day about gluten-free vodka. http://theglutenfreebar.com/gluten-free-blog/gluten-free-food-list/alcohol/is-vodka-gluten-free/ Smirnoff (corn-based) is always an easy (and cheap) option. Agree that Jagermeister is dangerous…but it is GF. Let me know what you think after you have a chance to try that sweet potato vodka.

      • theglutenfreebar

        Good to hear from you again Matt! I actually just wrote up a article the other day about gluten-free vodka.http://theglutenfreebar.com/gl… Smirnoff (corn-based) is always an easy (and cheap) option. Agree that Jagermeister is dangerous…but it is GF. Let me know what you think after you have a chance to try that sweet potato vodka.

        • Guest

          Can you please tell me wh

        • Bob Bowling

          Curious to know why FB isn’t GF. I thought the distillations process denatures the proteins that are considered gluten. Thx!

          • theglutenfreebar

            Hi Bob . Good question. Yes, distillation is technically supposed to remove gluten proteins. However, there are many, many reports of people who claim to have been contaminated with gluten after drinking distilled spirits (from wheat). So, this is one of those things where there is no black and white answer and it really depends on your level of gluten sensitivity. Having said that, all the online reports re: Fireball whiskey agree that it is not gluten-free. However, the company claims that there are no gluten-containing additives put into Fireball after the distillation process. I revised our score on this product accordingly. Thank for the question and let me know if you have any additional thoughts.

      • theglutenfreebar

        Hi Matt – just an FYI – I have updated this page since our last interaction.

  • Chester

    So, I have been GF for several years and am incredibly sensitive. When I was first researching GF booze, I read that most flavored liquors are contaminated by the alcohol that is used to deliver the flavoring. I can drink Jack Daniels Honey because it has honey liquor, but not Segram’s Honey, which has honey flavoring.
    I don’t know if this is helpful, but I sure know that I have to stay away from flavored vodkas and some whiskeys.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Hi Chester. Thank you for posting this comment. It’s always interesting to hear this type of specific feedback and we will be sure to take your experience into account when we write future alcohol reviews.

  • Stone

    Was just diagnosed with Celiac about a month ago. I am a travel journalist and often review restaurants, wine and spirits. I have found a really good vodka that is both gluten and sugar free. It is called Devotion Vodka. If you haven’t already, check it out.

  • Rick

    Thanks , this site is amazing !

    • theglutenfreebar

      Thanks Rick! Glad you like the site.

  • Mia Bostic

    This is so useful! I’ve recently started going to clubs and bars now and I know the safest brands are Ciroc, Bacardi and Jose Cuervo and to stay away from Whiskey, Bourbon, Scotch and other spirits! Any other advice? I’ve been gluten free for two years and every time I drink Fireball and Jameson I get an upset stomach.

  • I have Celiac & am the most sensitive/reactive of anyone I’ve crossed paths with, but I am not affected by distilled wheat-based liquor. I think I’ll try the Fireball.

    • theglutenfreebar

      We will be very curious to see how it goes! Please let us know. Bottoms up!

  • Marx

    I am very gluten sensitive (ie Nasal Congestion)

    I have drank of the fireball whiskey and it has not caused a reaction in me whatsoever. i love it.

  • MIMIDS

    No Fireball for me. :-( I am battling “celiac rash” and the last time I had a shot of FB I was covered in painful sores within an hour.

    • theglutenfreebar

      Oh no!!! You’re going to have to find some “safer” shots! Party safe.

  • Twistedmonk

    Look I’m allergic to wheat and corn and sesame seeds and shellfish since the butcher took my gallbladder not the stones like I asked. Not gluten, allergic >.< . No more Jim beam grrrrr.
    Anyways since there are no ingredients on alcohol bottles it makes it a bish to find anything besides rum and Jameson's which has neither wheat or corn in the processing .
    Regular Budweiser also is ok and tequila . But Jim beam is made from corn mash like most beer .
    Y don't the boose manufactures have to put the ingredients on their product. I feel like I'm playing Russian roulette every time I try a new drink.
    If you get sick offa Jameson it's the mix cause they don't even use wheat to color it like glen feddic ya spelled wrong I'm buzzed on Jameson a d Bacardi but I'm not sick.
    Bty shredded cheese and cereal vitamins have corn starch on em to keep em from sticking together it's in the processing not a ingredient so not listed . Rice Chex and open nature cranberry nut granola safe rice crispy a not.

Watch What Makes a Good Gluten-Free Snack

Try A Sample Pack! Free Shipping & $5 Coupon!

Get our FREE Gluten-Free Guide!